Wandering in Wellington

Good as, happy as, mean as… I heard it in context, but thought it was “happy ass.” Laughs. I’ve been laughing here, so much. Thankful and blessed. Between the mega rolling hills, the Manhattan-esque personality of the city, the care of my hosts, and the significant time change, I am one overwhelmed and enthralled gal.

My eyes cannot stay focused for longer than five seconds before moving onto the next strange and remarkable thing. In the five days since my arrival, I have been thoroughly introduced to the delightful town of Wellington. It is a brilliant mixture of friendly urban and windsurfing beaches and hillside living. Oh yes, it is winter here and the windy kind of cold, but I’m pleasantly surprised to see such green abundance.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Driving the coast of the city

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

A look out my room window

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Weekly water fill up at the spring

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Market!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Central Business District (aka Downtown)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Celebratory red wine bubbly – amazing!

photo (1)

Alice and Bruce are teaching me how to cook! Today we made monk fish and poached pears. Deelish.

I found a hidden note from the family with a photo of them holding a sign that read,”Frodo: Go back Sam! I’m going to Mordor alone. Sam: Of course you are, and I’m coming with you.” ❤

