A Place to Call Home

It’s been awhile, yeah? Wellington and the Edwards are treating me better than ever. I’ve got quite the line of work established for the next couple of months. I am learning and living! Living to learn and learning to live. Sunday evenings, the three of us sit to watch “A Place to Call Home,” a melodramatic series set in postwar 1950’s in England, an Australian production (usually with wine in hand). It’s got me thinking about what home means to me, thankful for this lovely family and city to call home.

Where did September go? October is flying, too. S l o w down, please. Oktoberfest, Wellington style, was celebrated grabbing beers with Bruce and coworkers and I opted for the “lady sized” beer. Don’t be misled, that is still a gigantic beer. Tipping my hat to autumn in the states, Alice and I made a gorgeous pumpkin pie from scratch, pumpkin and all. Best I’ve ever had. Words like “beautiful” and “gorgeous” are used here to describe taste of food rather than appearance.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

My train stop

There are train attendants who check tickets once on board. Picture this. He was the jolliest of jolly, smiling, and thanking everyone on the latest train of the evening. He was met with less than enthusiastic responses, yet maintained his pleasantry. I observed him the entire train ride and smiled the whole way home because of his genuine joy. I wished that people were more responsive to his demeanor… Just as I thought this, a three year old hopped off the train with his Mom and then ran back to the train to wave a big goodbye to the attendant as the train pulled away from the station. The attendant grinned and giggled to himself, went on about his business. The little things, right?Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetIMG_5225

Italy reminders

IMG_5247 IMG_5250 IMG_5251IMG_5301 Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

World of Wearable Art Award Show was hosted in Wellington this past month – always something! I stumbled upon this incredible Monk performance on the final day.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 Edwards household typical FABULOUS dinner.

Favorites of mine are hiking up to Mt. Victoria (laying on the grass) and wandering the streets of the city, particularly the shopping spots, trying new cafes. Oh yes, I forgot to tell you all that there are more restaurants here per capita than NYC. Total foodies.

“Home” Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros

“We’re all traveling through time together, every day of our lives. All we can do is do our best to relish this remarkable ride.”

