Treasure Chest

“What a treasure chest of places to visit in your mind!”

…My fabulous aunt commented in our discussion of my impending New Zealand travels last August. It struck me then and now has become a sort of mental banner as I try to hold onto everything that I’ve experienced in these divinely magical last couple months. Dropping Annie off at the airport, as a montage of moments floods my mind, I’m slammed with every emotion imaginable… In the best of ways. It is times like now that I wish I had my brother’s gift for articulation to convey my exact thoughts and tell you colorfully of climbing peaks, overcoming fears, or meeting people who changed me from the briefest of encounters. What I can tell you now, despite my current disorientation of time and space, is that it was an absolute adventure. A journey that was irrefutably rich and restorative.

Annie couldn’t have made a better backpacking bud and if it wasn’t for both our happy dispositions, we would’ve faced some ugly dilemmas with considerably less smiles. From almost sleeping the streets of Sydney to surfing the Pacific to the high peaks of New Zealand, an indescribable story unfolded before our eyes and hearts. We’ll never be the same, and for the better. Or so I hope 😉

xo – Gracie

Here’s a taste! It was a wild one.

 1. South Island

Picton

IMG_6737

Nelson

IMG_6041

Abel Tasman

DSC_0691

Golden Bay

DSC_0745

Karamea

IMG_6136

Punakaiki

DSC_0790

Franz Josef

DCIM101GOPRO

Queenstown

IMG_6367

Kepler Track

IMG_6544 Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Dunedin

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Moeraki

DSC_0861

Geraldine

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Christchurch 
IMG_6692

2. North Island

Castlepoint

DSC_0899

Hawke’s Bay

IMG_6850

Lake Taupo | Huka Falls

IMG_6860

Rotorua

IMG_6912

Matamata | Hobbiton

DSC_0941

Wai-o-tapu

IMG_6897

Coromandel

IMG_6972

Auckland

IMG_7018

 3. Australia

Sydney

IMG_7112

Bondi Beach

IMG_7138

Gold Coast

DSC_0957

Coolangatta Beach

IMG_7175

Surfer’s Paradise

IMG_7193

Currumbin

IMG_7222

